Syncing with the SmartDay Cloud

With iCloud, Exchange, and now our SmartDay Cloud – plus the bevy of external calendars such as iCal, Outlook, BusyCal and Google – data is flying all around the internet. So,why sync with the SmartDay Cloud?  That’s easy: because it’s the only way you’ll get the full functionality of our integrated organizers.  No other organizer integrates tasks directly into the free time in your calendar.  Now, for the first time, you can connect your integrated calendars between your iPad (SmartPad) and your Mac (SmartDay).  mySmartDay.com also has the same functions and features as our device apps, but on a browser – so you can log on to see your integrated calendars on any computer, anywhere – including a PC! And soon, you’ll also be connected to your iPhones via SmartDay for iPhone.

If you connect iCal between your iPods, iPhones, iPads and Macs – via iCloud, iTunes, or Exchange – and if you also sync with the SmartDay Cloud, that creates a Sync Loop – which, in turn, will create duplicated items.  Here are four different cases for how to eliminate duplication.  Choose which one works best for you. But choose it BEFORE you run SmartDay!


Pre-flight check:

Here are some other  reasons that you might have duplicated calendars:  iCloud has already duplicated some of your calendars when you first set it up, or you still have an old Mobile Me account.  Read more about these issues here.


Questions? Chat with us live or, if we’re not in, drop a note to our help desk: [email protected]. We’ll respond within 12~24 hours, unless it’s a weekend or the power goes out again.


Watch out for Google!  Google Calendar has a new beta that allows you to attach GoogleDoc files to your appointments. That’s cool, but it’s in beta we sure didn’t know about it. So if SmartDay is crashing on you, remove your Google calendars from iCal and see if it works for you. If so, that’s the cause – and yes, we’re working on that issue…





We actually like Case 4 because SmartPad has a nifty feature in its Settings  that removes all suspected duplicates. Just go to Settings -> General -> Remove suspected duplicates. After that has been completed, the ‘sync loop’ has been broken, and you can sync freely in both directions.